The Latest Technology Stack News Directly from EBS Development

Which Oracle Web Tier Utilities Patchsets Can Be Used with EBS 12.2?

Steven Chan
Senior Director
The Oracle E-Business Suite Release 12.2's Rapid Install delivers three Fusion Middleware (FMW) components:
  1. Oracle WebLogic Server 10.3.6 (this is the "$FMW_HOME") 
  2. Oracle WebTier Utilities
  3. Oracle Common Home (Part of Oracle WebTier Utilities
The fifth-level digit in the Oracle Web Tier Utilities version is not relevant to E-Business Suite certifications.  In other words, you can apply any Oracle Web Tier Utilities patchsets that have been certified at the fourth-level digit. 

For example, we have certified EBS 12.2 with Web Tier Utilities All of the following Web Tier Utilities patchsets will work with EBS 12.2:

  • Oracle Web Tier Utilities (documented certification)
  • Oracle Web Tier Utilities (Fictitious future Bundle Patch for example purposes only-- this has not been released

This is sometimes shown in our documentation in either of the following ways:

  • Oracle Web Tier Utilities
  • Oracle Web Tier Utilities

The absence of a fifth-digit or the presence of an 'X' in the fifth digit's place means any fifth-digit level updates may be applied to an EBS 12.2 environment without requiring a new certification.  This applies to all environments, including test and production environments.

What is NOT certified

The Oracle Web Tier Downloads page has several listings for other things, including:

  • Oracle Web Tier 12cR2
  • Oracle HTTP Server
  • Oracle HTTP Server
  • Oracle HTTP Server 12.2.1

These have not been certified with Oracle E-Business Suite 12.2.  You should not apply these to your EBS 12.2 environment.

Related Articles


Be the first to comment

Comments ( 0 )
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.

Recent Content