Tuesday Dec 04, 2007

Goodbye TeamWare, hello Mercurial!

The OpenJDK code base for JDK 7 now officially resides in our brand new Mercurial repositories. Life is good![Read More]

Thursday Nov 08, 2007

Upcoming gig: JavaPolis 2007

See you in Antwerp![Read More]

Tuesday Nov 06, 2007

Upcoming OpenJDK infrastructure projects

The publication last week of our experimental Mercurial repositories heralds the first of many infrastructure projects that we hope to initiate, and in most cases complete, over the next year or so. Herewith an overview of the entire list. [Read More]

Monday Nov 05, 2007

Welcome, Red Hat!

This just in … Red Hat has signed both the Sun Contributor Agreement and the OpenJDK Community TCK License. [Read More]

Thursday Nov 01, 2007

Mercurial rocks!

Whooosh! [Read More]

Thursday Oct 11, 2007

Publishing code reviews

One of the engineering practices that’s served the JDK development team well for many years now is that of peer-based code reviews. What’s the most expedient way to enable any OpenJDK contributor to publish code-review materials on the open web for all to see? [Read More]

Thursday Oct 04, 2007

Constitutional conversations commence

The OpenJDK Governance Board held its first two meetings this past July. The minutes have just been posted; herewith the highlights. [Read More]

Thursday Jun 07, 2007

OpenJDK Community Cosmology

Every community needs a creation myth. Here’s ours.[Read More]

Monday Jun 04, 2007

Slides from “OpenJDK Project Report” @ JavaOne 2007

I’ve posted the slides from my JavaOne talk. [Read More]

Wednesday May 16, 2007

Roll credits!

This source code brought to you by …[Read More]

Wednesday May 09, 2007

The OpenJDK Charter

A signature moment [Read More]

Tuesday May 08, 2007

Liftoff!

On our way to escape velocity…[Read More]

Friday Apr 27, 2007

Who are you?

Please build and then identify yourself.[Read More]

Wednesday Mar 14, 2007

Video gig

A quick chat with Simon[Read More]

Thursday Mar 01, 2007

Linux packaging and Java modules

Modern Linux distributions have powerful tools for managing software packages and their dependencies. Do these tools obviate the need for the Java module system being developed for JSR 277, or can these two kinds of systems somehow work together?[Read More]

Monday Feb 26, 2007

OpenJDK @ FOSDEM 2007

Another event that was unthinkable a year ago[Read More]

Sunday Dec 10, 2006

Flashing past the finish

With thanks to all[Read More]

Thursday Nov 16, 2006

Behind the scenes

A quick glimpse at just some of what had to be done in order to open-source two major components of a closed-source project. [Read More]

Sunday Nov 12, 2006

One giant leap, two small steps

Sun is open-sourcing its entire Java stack—ME, SE, and EE—under the GNU General Public License, version 2. You can get the source code for HotSpot and javac in the new OpenJDK project.[Read More]

Sunday Oct 01, 2006

Weekend hack: Planet JDK upgraded to Atom 1.0

The simple pleasures of programming[Read More]

Tuesday Sep 26, 2006

Source-code management for an open JDK

The aging source-code management system we’ve been using for the JDK all these years is unsuitable for open development. To which newer system should we migrate as we open-source the code? (Hint: The likely answer involves eighty protons, eighty electrons, and one hundred twenty-one neutrons.)[Read More]

Monday Sep 04, 2006

Java SE 6 schedule update

Cantering toward completion[Read More]

Tuesday Aug 29, 2006

Removing features from the Java SE platform

Perhaps the most significant recent change to the JSR 270 specification is the definition—and first application—of a policy for removing existing features. Herewith a bit about the motivation and the details, and why you might not be able to play MIDI sound files out-of-the-box on a future version of the platform. [Read More]

Java SE 6 Release Contents (JSR 270): Public Review

Trotting into the arena[Read More]

Wednesday Aug 16, 2006

At sixes and sevens

Some unsurprising answers to recent expressions of surprise.[Read More]

Monday Aug 14, 2006

Yes, we really are going to open-source the JDK

Yes. Really. In early 2007.[Read More]

Wednesday Jun 14, 2006

Slides from “Integrating XML into the Java™ Programming Language”

I’ve posted a condensed version of the slides from my JavaOne talk.

[Read More]

Wednesday Feb 15, 2006

Class-Path Wildcards in Mustang

Asterisks to the rescue! [Read More]
About

This blog has moved to http://mreinhold.org/blog. <script>var p = window.location.pathname.split('/'); var n = p[p.length - 1].replace(/_/g,'-'); if (n != "301") window.location = "http://mreinhold.org/blog/" + n;</script>

Search

Archives
« April 2014
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   
       
Today
News

No bookmarks in folder

Blogroll

No bookmarks in folder

Feeds
RSS Atom