Update Center: Desktop Notifier Start Up

In my  entry last month I discussed some ways to manage the Update Center's desktop notifier.   In the upcoming release  of version 2.1 of the Update Center project  the team added some additional mechanism to launch the notifier.  The most noticeable change is the update preferences accessed via the updateool GUI:

Preferences Dialog

The "Automatically check for updates" check box is used to indicate whether the notifier should be started automatically when  you log in to your desktop.    If this check box is selected when this dialog is applied the notifier will be registered  as a log in start up task.   The notifier will also be started immediately at that point.   If the notifier is already running the newly started notifier will silently exit.

If the "Automatically check for updates" check box is not selected when the dialog is applied the notifier will be unregistered as a log in start up task.   Any currently running notifier instances will be shutdown when the dialog is  dismissed.    By selecting or deselecting (and applying) the check box the current notifier operation can be controlled.

In UC 2.0 the updatetool GUI would automatically (as a background task) register the notifier shortly after it is started if the update check frequency is set to daily, weekly or monthly.   This still occurs in UC 2.1 (if the "Automatically check for updates" check box is selected).  New in version 2.1, the updatetool GUI will also start the notifier automatically shortly after the GUI is launched.  This instance of the notifier will silently exit if another instance of the notifier is already executing.

We also added the ability to stop the notifier from the command line:

% updatetool --notifier --shutdown

This command has no output.   It simply sends a message to the running notifier to shutdown.    This command is useful on Windows in the scenario where a user wishes to move or delete an application folder but is blocked because the running notifier instance was started from within the folder.   Windows will not allow a folder to be deleted if files within the folder are still in use.  

 Current builds of Update Center can be accessed through our download site:

http://wikis.sun.com/display/IpsBestPractices/Downloads

 These changes will appear in build 18.



Comments:

Post a Comment:
  • HTML Syntax: NOT allowed
About

Chris Kasso

Search

Categories
Archives
« April 2014
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   
       
Today