JCP Program Office blog covers news from the Java Community Process program office

  • September 14, 2011

JCP Annual Award Nominees 2011

Guest Author

The nominations for the 9th annual JCP Program Awards have closed and it
is time for the JCP Executive Committee (EC) Members to cast their
votes. The winners will be announced during the Tuesday evening JCP party during JavaOne, which will be held this year on 4 October beginning at 18:00 in
the Anzu Restaurant of the Nikko Hotel (more details on the party to follow later). 
I've listed the nominees as well as their nomination justifications
below.  Read more about the awards here.  Congratulations to the nominees!

JCP Member/Participant of the Year

  • Mike DeNicola for his role as JCP.next Working Group Lead. While not officially Spec Lead of JSR 348, Mike has contributed a lot in getting the JCP reform plans where they are at a great pace, compared to earlier efforts. Helping the JCP to be fit for the next decades of Java following the Oracle-Sun merger.
  • SouJava: For tirelessly promoting the JCP, JSRs, openness, transparency and our community at large (to say nothing of Bruno Souza's marvelous cape!).
  • IBM: For their participation in the OpenJDK project, which has significantly increased the momentum of Java SE.
  • London Java Community: For their efforts to involve the developer community in the activities of the JCP.
  • Doug Lea: After a long and distinguished tenure on the JCP EC, Doug Lea (along with Tim Peierls and The Apache Software Foundation) felt he had no choice but to resign at the end of 2010. In doing so, he demonstrated integrity, independence, and courage that truly sets him apart. If the JCP is to retain any shred of legitimacy and relevance in the future, it will be through the actions other members who display the traits exemplified by Doug: integrity, independence, and courage, coupled with unparalleled technical expertise and a genuine love for the Java ecosystem.

Most Innovative JSR

  • JSR 321: Trusted Computing API for Java. Beside a picture book example for Agile and Transparent Expert Group work, JSR 321 also anticipated another vision of JCP.next, by being the first JSR with a known implementation in language other than Java, called Hybrid JSR by JCP.next (Part 2 and beyond) Apart from all that, Trusted Java holds the key to a safer more reliable and trusted usage of PaaS/Cloud or other Pervasive Technologies like Social Networking and Mobile.
  • JSR 334: Small Enhancements to the Java Programming Language (Project Coin): Due to the process it was run under and the requirement of participants to 'put some skin in the game'.
  • JSR 292:  Supporting Dynamically Typed Languages on the Java Platform:  As the first JSR specifically designed to support languages other than Java, JSR 292 will ensure the long-term success of the Java VM.

Outstanding Spec Lead

  • John Rose: (JSR 292 Supporting Dynamically Typed Languages on the Java Platform:) Due to his excellence in ensuring consensus across the community - both EG members and the wider JVM language community.
  • Alex Buckley: (JSR 901, Java Language Specification and JSR 924: Java Virtual Machine Specification.) For his leadership.
  • Mark Reinhold: For his leadership and promotion of the first Java SE platform JSR in several years.

Be the first to comment

Comments ( 0 )
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.