NightHacking Online: Lambdas Hacking with Brian Goetz

NightHacking is kicking off the new year with Brian Goetz, Java Language Architect at Oracle, providing an in-depth look at Lambdas. Watch the live stream and join the three-hour hacking session. There will be a Google Hangout setup for groups participating remotely. Find a  NightHacking Meetup in your city or create your own. While you can hack in a group of any size, 5-15 is the ideal range. NightHacking will supply the Git repo and examples, you supply the coffee or beer!

NightHacking will send out the hacking materials shortly before the broadcast. Any recent JDK 8 build will work, the build of record will be b121. Follow @­_nighthacking for the latest updates.

What: NightHacking Online with Brian Goetz

Date: Thursday, January 16th 

Time(s):

10AM PST  
  1PM ET
16:00 BRST 
18:00 GMT 
19:00 CET
23:30 IST (Real NightHackers!)

Interested in trying out the new lambda feature in Java 8? If so, this “higher-order lab” is for you. Participants will use a recent JDK 8 development build and a recent NetBeans build that support the lambda feature and will take part in exercises intended to teach them about the new lambda feature of the Java programming language and the new Streams Library API. The exercises start off very simply, so that beginners can learn the fundamentals. Additional exercises covering grouping and parallel reduction aim to challenge more-advanced participants. Participants need not have any prior knowledge of Java’s lambda feature. 
Comments:

Post a Comment:
  • HTML Syntax: NOT allowed
About

Insider News from the Java Team at Oracle!

duke
javeone logo
Links


Search

Archives
« April 2014
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  
2
5
6
7
12
13
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   
       
Today