Break New Ground

Oracle Mag Editors' Choice Awards

Guest Author

Oracle Magazine's 2005 Editors' Choice Awards are now online. Here are some of the more relevant ones for OTN:

DBA of the Year: Sue Diehl, Boeing
"Diehl supports Boeing's Data Collection System (DCS), a manufacturing system that collects data from devices in the factory and distributes the information to the appropriate systems, such as parts inventory or scheduling and tracking. "

PL/SQL Developer of the Year: Hakan Arpfors
"Arpfors is senior designer for IFS in Sweden, one of the world's leading providers of component-based business software. IFS's industry-focused solutions are optimized for enterprise resource planning, enterprise asset management, and maintenance, repair, and overhaul. "

Web Services Developer of the Year: Dan Chisarick
"Chisarick is helping to guide the development of more than 800 core Web services that Fidelity Information Systems is creating for its financial services customers."

Java Developer of the Year: Dennis Avondet Jr.
"Avondet's role as a technology architect at healthcare information technology provider Cerner encompasses design and development, as well as making sure the deployed applications are able to meet some incredibly demanding usage profiles--tens of thousands of users and dozens or hundreds of clustered application servers."

PHP Developer of the Year: Wez Furlong
"Furlong helps OmniTI solve difficult Web problems for clients such as Feedster.com, UltraDNS, and Sleepycat Software. More recently he's been working with software company and Oracle partner Zend to help redesign the Oracle OCI8 driver for greater performance and higher reliability, as well as working on PHP Data Objects (PDO), a uniform data access layer."

HTML DB Developer of the Year: Tony Jedlinski
"Jedlinksi is a vice president of giftware distributor Roman, and executive vice president and vice president of Web operations for the Independent Oracle Users Group. 'Oracle HTML DB is our first choice for developing new applications, says Jedlinski."

...in addition to winners in other categories, such as XML Developer, SOA Adopter, Portal Developer, etc.

Review the full list here.

Be the first to comment

Comments ( 0 )
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.