Thursday Oct 15, 2009

Impressions from Openworld

[Read More]

Sunday Sep 27, 2009

OLTP And Data Warehouse? How Does That Work?

[Read More]

Monday Sep 21, 2009

500GB/sec and Database Machine Generation 2

[Read More]

Wednesday Sep 16, 2009

Introducing the next generation Database Machine

[Read More]

Monday Sep 14, 2009

Announcing something very cool...

[Read More]

Tuesday Aug 18, 2009

Partitioning and/or/with Exadata?

Got a little busy there with all the comments on the Netezza posting, but now we're back into some of the outstanding topics. This post is the next one on discussing some of the ODTUG session questions (see this post). One of the questions was about the use of partitioning and whether it is made obsolete by Exadata off-loading... In other words, should you look at one, the other or both? The answer is that you will want both, and there are a variety of reasons for that. First of all, on the query side you will hopefully be using partitioning (often range partitioning) for partition elimination. From an I/O perspective that looks roughly like this*:
Partition_pruning.JPG
In essence, partition pruning allows you to reduce a 5TB I/O operation to a much smaller I/O operation and therefore much faster return of the information. Compression is something that may or may not be used. In this example we are compressing the data and further reducing the I/O numbers. So far there is nothing new here, with Exadata however you will see a further reduction. After applying a smart scan, both the rows returned (remember Exadata is smart storage and actually knows rows and columns should be returned!) and the columns returned are further reduced. This is on top of partitioning. You will get something like this:
ExadatawithPartition_pruning.JPG
The conclusion from a query and I/O perspective is therefore that you will benefit from both.[Read More]

Monday Jun 29, 2009

Kindles, books and appliance style software licensing

[Read More]

Customers, customers and customers

[Read More]

Thursday Jun 25, 2009

Best Practices at ODTUG

[Read More]

Tuesday Jun 23, 2009

What is going on in the BI/DW world?

[Read More]

Monday Jun 15, 2009

What's going on: HP Technology Forum and Expo

[Read More]

Monday Jun 01, 2009

Netezza...

[Read More]

Friday May 22, 2009

Podcast: QXL Allegro on Database Machine

[Read More]

Thursday May 14, 2009

More Exadata Deep Dive Webcasts

[Read More]

Wednesday Apr 29, 2009

Data Warehouse Vendor Comparison

[Read More]
About

The data warehouse insider is written by the Oracle product management team and sheds lights on all thing data warehousing and big data.

Search

Archives
« April 2014
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  
2
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
16
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   
       
Today