All Things Database: Education, Best Practices,
Use Cases & More

Standard Edition High Availability Released - See What's New

Markus Michalewicz
Senior Director of Product Management
This is a syndicated post, view the original post here

The "Standard Edition 2 – We Heard You! Announcing: Standard Edition High Availability" blog post published approximately two months ago resulted in a lot of interest in this new feature - Thank you!

It is therefore with great pleasure that I can announce the general availability of Standard Edition High Availability (SEHA) on Linux, Microsoft Windows and Solaris with Oracle Database 19c, Release Update (RU) 19.7. Additional operating systems are planned to be supported later this year.

What's New

As the Oracle Database 19c New Features Guide under the "RAC and Grid section" states, Standard Edition High Availability provides cluster-based failover for single-instance Standard Edition Oracle Databases using Oracle Clusterware. It benefits from the cluster capabilities and storage solutions that are already part of Oracle Grid Infrastructure, such as Oracle Clusterware, Oracle Automatic Storage Management (Oracle ASM) and Oracle ASM Cluster File System (Oracle ACFS).

Standard Edition High Availability is fully integrated with Oracle Grid Infrastructure starting with Oracle Grid Infrastructure 19c, Release Update 19.7. The prerequisites for SEHA database systems are therefore largely the same as for all Grid Infrastructure-based database systems, as discussed under Requirements for Installing Standard Edition High Availability.

Standard Edition High Availability databases are not Real Application Clusters (RAC)-enabled. Oracle RAC One Node is a RAC-enabled database in that the RAC-option needs to be enabled in the Oracle Database home from which the database runs. This is not the case for Standard Edition High Availability databases. While both solutions provide cluster-based failover for the Oracle Database, RAC One node supports additional high availability features further reducing planned maintenance related downtime that are not part of the Standard Edition High Availability offering. For more information on how Standard Edition High Availability, Oracle Restart, Oracle RAC and Oracle RAC One Node compare, see the High Availability Options Overview for Oracle Databases using Oracle Clusterware.

Standard Edition High Availability databases can be licensed using the “10-day failover rule”, which is described in this document. This rule includes the right to run the licensed program(s) [here the Standard Edition High Availability database] on an unlicensed spare computer in a failover environment for up to a total of ten separate days in any given calendar year. This right only applies when a number of machines are arranged in a cluster and share one disk array, which is the case for Standard Edition High Availability databases by default. In addition, SEHA databases are subject to all licensing regulations that generally apply to a Standard Edition 2 (SE2) single-instance Oracle Database. Note that SEHA databases are not subject to a per-cluster socket limitation, but need to adhere to the per-server socket limitation that applies to any Standard Edition 2 Oracle Database. 

Standard Edition High Availability databases can either be freshly installed or configured using an existing single-instance Standard Edition Oracle Database. There is no direct upgrade path from either a single-instance or a pre-19c Oracle RAC Standard Edition 2 database. While the database can be upgraded, configuring it to be a Standard Edition High Availability database requires additional manual steps explained in the Managing Standard Edition High Availability with Oracle Databases section of the Oracle Database Administrator’s Guide. Standard Edition 2 Oracle RAC databases need to be converted to single-instance Standard Edition Oracle Databases prior to upgrading to Oracle Database 19c, as described in My Oracle Support note 2504078.1.

Concluding, Standard Edition High Availability provides a fully integrated cluster-based failover for Standard Edition Oracle Databases using Oracle Clusterware. Oracle’s Standard Edition 2 (SE2) customers thereby benefit from the high availability capabilities and storage management solutions that are already part of Oracle Grid Infrastructure, such as Oracle Automatic Storage Management (ASM) and the Oracle ASM Cluster File System (ACFS), free of charge

Start testing here: Deploying Standard Edition High Availability and let me know your feedback, please.  

Be the first to comment

Comments ( 0 )
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.