Cloud Security Perspectives and Insights

Quick Tip #3 – Understanding Oracle Identity Cloud Service Licensing

Paul Toal
Distinguished Solution Engineer - Cyber Security

Well, the verdict is in and my quick tips seem to be very popular, so here is number 3. If you missed the first two, you can find them here:

            Quick Tip #1 – Accessing your Identity Cloud Service friendly URL

            Quick Tip #2 – Creating multiple Identity Cloud Service instances

In quick tip #3, I want to explore another common topic I get questions about frequently, pricing. Specifically, how is Oracle Identity Cloud Service (IDCS) licensed? It’s a question that often surprises me, since, at least in my mind, the pricing is very straightforward.

If you read quick tip #2, you learned that when you create an instance of IDCS, you select the license type from a drop-down box, as shown below.



It might look complex that there are five different options to choose from, but once I explain, you will see that it really isn’t. Fundamentally, there are only two different editions (or tiers) of licenses for IDCS:

Foundation: This is a free version of IDCS  provided to customers that subscribe to Oracle SaaS, PaaS, and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. It provides basic identity management functions such as user management, group management, and password management.

Standard: This is a paid edition of IDCS that provides access to all identity and access management capabilities offered by IDCS. These features can be used with Oracle Cloud Services, but also non-Oracle applications and custom applications, irrespective of whether they are deployed in Oracle Cloud, in a third-party cloud, or on-premises.

That’s it, simple! There is no multi-tiered pricing, just a standard license. You aren't required to pay for individual features within IDCS. If you are using the standard edition, then you pay a subscription charge per user, per month and gain access to all of the IDCS capabilities, with no hidden or extra charges. Yes, that includes powerful capabilities like adaptive risk-based authentication, multi-factor authentication (MFA), identity lifecycle management, directory integration, application gateway, single sign-on (SSO), and more.

So why the five options in the previous screenshot? Well, with the standard edition, you pay different rates for consumer and enterprise users. You can see the current pricing for these two user types here.

The final two options in the drop-down list are what we call Bring-Your-Own-License (BYOL). For Oracle customers who are already using certain Oracle identity management products, they can take advantage of a reduced rate on standard edition subscriptions that include both consumer and enterprise users. You can find all the pricing (including the BYOL prices) in the cost estimator located here.

You can find full details of the pricing models for Identity Cloud Service, including a comparison of the capabilities included within foundation versus standard editions here.

Once again, I hope you find this quick tip useful.

Is there a specific topic you would like me to cover in future, not just on Identity Cloud Service? If so, leave a comment below and I’ll consider it.

Join the discussion

Comments ( 3 )
  • Karthik Murali Tuesday, September 15, 2020
    Great article, Paul! Extremely helpful. Thanks.
  • Santiago Garcia Monday, October 26, 2020
    Can you explain the difference between consumer and enterprise user?
  • Paul Toal Monday, November 2, 2020
    The difference between Consumer and Enterprise users is documented in the PaaS/IaaS Service Descriptions document (http://www.oracle.com/us/corporate/contracts/paas-iaas-universal-credits-3940775.pdf).

    However, in summary, Enterprise users are employees, i.e. those employeed by an organisation, whereas Consumers are not employed by you. For example, customers, partners, suppliers etc.

    I hope that helps.
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.