Advancing computing education globally

Oracle Academy Supports Students from 33 Schools at Fifth Programming Marathon in Brazil

Richard Delgado Cascante
Regional Director - Latin America

In July 2019, the Oracle office in São Paulo, Brazil, welcomed a small crowd of about 50 high school students and 10 teachers at an awards ceremony for the winners of the 5th Programming Marathon at the Paula Souza Center.

ETEC Guaianazes, led by Professor Prof. Érico de Souza Veriscimo, was the winner of the competition, with three winning teams: Deus_Seja_Louvado (1st Place), NoisYTech (2nd) and Neverland (3rd).

Oracle Academy provided awards and the support for the marathon for the second year, and Oracle provided the cloud access to host student projects in real time. The programming marathon drew the participation of 33 schools, bringing together a total of 806 students divided into 285 teams. The projects were supervised by 53 teachers and were evaluated by 6 judges.

On the Award day, the top 15 school winners were welcomed to the Oracle office and had the opportunity to hear from Oracle employees:

  • Fabiana Valente, Oracle Academy program manager, Lucas Corsi, consultant, startups & ISVs, and cloud specialist Diogo Shibata talked about the Oracle Academy educational program and the interest Oracle takes in helping students learn tech skills
  • Marco Righetti, director of technology and innovation, discussed Industry 4.0
  • Renato Eric Miranda, business strategy leader, spoke about cloud careers
  • Leonardo de Barros, senior engineer, talked about gains in artificial intelligence
  • Elder Moraes, evangelist, explained why Java has been fantastic for his career
  • Tiago de Souza, coordinator of the computer training projects at CPS, spoke about the marathon and the partnership with Oracle Academy.

After the awards ceremony, the students were able to talk informally with company executives.

Award winners were:

1st place: Deus_Seja_Louvado team

  • Prof. Érico de Souza Veriscimo
  • Alexandre Henrique Gabino de Souza
  • Giulia Ventura Ratti
  • Igor Silva Nascimento


2nd place: NoisYTech team

  • Prof. Érico de Souza Veriscimo
  • Gabriel Lopes Ferreira Ramos
  • Gabriel Oliveira Aguiar e Silva
  • Rafael Lopes Ferreira Ramos


3rd place: Neverland team

  • Prof. Érico de Souza Veriscimo
  • Alexandre Ferreira de Lima
  • Lucas Del Puerto Garcia
  • Rafaela Bezerra Martins

Be the first to comment

Comments ( 0 )
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.