Advancing computing education globally

Fourteen Youth Win Oracle Academy Awards for Computing Innovation at 2019 INTEL ISEF

Denise Hobbs
Regional Director, North America

Oracle Academy was pleased to present 14 young innovators with awards of US$5,000 at the recent 2019 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) event, May 16-17, 2019, in Phoenix. The award winners embedded computer science into their projects in the system software category.

The Intel ISEF is the world’s largest international pre-college science competition. Through a global network of local, regional, and national science fairs, millions of students are encouraged to explore their passion for developing innovations that improve the way we work and live.

Award finalists were selected by expert Oracle volunteer judges:

Lead judge: Bruce Regittko

Judges: Bernard Schober, Heather Foidart, Jason Midkiff, Julia Hull, Kate Fisher, Ravi Sharma, Sid Prasad, Syed Huda, Zeke Bishop, Mike Waddoups

We thank these experts for sharing their time. Sharma noted, “The brilliance of these young students in crafting solutions for the anticipated problems and opportunities of their generation lies in the simplicity of their innovations. It is simply a mind blowing experience to see how these youth are able to utilize the technologies at hand to craft amazing solutions to the most crucial challenges of their generation.”

Oracle Academy Winners: Award of $5,000 each for 9 outstanding projects in the systems software category.


Cary Xiao

Tuscaloosa, AL

School: Alabama School of Mathematics and Science

Teacher: Grey Gaillard


Harshal Bharatia

Plano, TX

School: Vines High School

Teacher: Emily Sharma


Brandon Fan

Blacksburg, VA

School: Blacksburg High School

Teacher: Katharine Davis


Gianni Plaza-Pizarro

San Juan, PR

School: The San Juan Math, Science and Technology Center

Teacher: Ivangs Rivera-Aponte


Ian Langleben, Dawson College, and Liana Martins-Medina, Marianopolis College

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Teacher: Wilson Wong


Raymond Suo, Louisville, KY, and Allen Wu, Fargo, ND

School: DuPont Manual High School

Naomi Kenyatta, New York, NY

School: Horace Mann School

Teacher: Glenn Zwanzig


Sama Ayoub and Khadija Elmagarmid

Doha, Qatar

School: Qatar Academy Senior School

Teacher: Jason Maraku


Tinotenda Zimhunga and Rufaro Mutogo

Harare, Zimbabwe

School: Chisipite Senior School

Teacher: Paul Grotto


Saad Mankarious

Assuit, Egypt

School: Assuit Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics High School

Teacher: Ramadan Hussien

Maya Ajmera, President and CEO of the Society for Science & the Public and Publisher of Science News, said, “The more than 1,800 finalists at Intel ISEF 2019 are the stewards of our future. Their innovations are poised to solve our world’s most intractable challenges.”

Each year, approximately 1,800 high school students from more 80 countries, regions, and territories are awarded the opportunity to showcase their independent research and compete for more than US$5 million in awards and scholarships at the Intel ISEF.

Congratulations to our outstanding Oracle Academy award winners!

Join the discussion

Comments ( 1 )
  • Julia Thursday, August 1, 2019
    These students are as inspiring as their projects - can't wait to see what the future brings to this incredibly bright and hard working group of students from across the globe!
Please enter your name.Please provide a valid email address.Please enter a comment.CAPTCHA challenge response provided was incorrect. Please try again.