Using Workgroups and Usersgroups

Workgroups and Usergroups

It is very important that the decision to use or not multiple Workgroups be made before creating any user accounts or setting up knowledge paths. If it is later determined you need to move users or other items between workgroups, all tracking for these items is lost. When in doubt use Usergroups or contact Support if you have questions.

Note:   Multiple Workgroups are only possible when using standard authentication. When using Windows authentication you can only have one workgroup.

Item

Purpose

Utilization

Workgroup

Workgroups are managed in a way that keeps them completely independent of other workgroups. With the exception of titles, workgroups do not share items in Manager. Multiple workgroups allows an organization to have Knowledge Pathways groups that can function alone and be independently managed.

Recommendations:

When using a multiple workgroup configuration, the Master workgroup should not be used as a functioning workgroup or include active users. It should be reserved for the server administrator.

Each workgroup should have its own workgroup manager who can function independently from the other managers on the server.

Advantages:

·         Workgroups are designed to correspond with independently managed corporate sites or divisions..

·         Using multiple workgroups allows an organization to have Knowledge Pathways clusters that can function alone and be independently managed.

Limitations:

·         Usergroups cannot be shared across workgroups

·         Knowledge paths cannot be shared across workgroups.

·         Categories cannot be shared across workgroups

·         In Manager, searches, e.g. for users, permissions, etc. does not search across workgroups.

·         Cannot run Standard reports across workgroups

·         User may be required to select a workgroup before they log into the system.

·         Only Server Admin can see all Workgroups.

·         When titles are installed the Workgroup must be selected. Server Admin may add the title if needed

Usergroups

Placing users into usergroups simplifies the task of assigning subjects and assessments to users. By making an assignment of subjects and assessments to a usergroup, a manager makes that assignment to many users at once.

A usergroup can be any logical grouping of users defined by a manager.

Multiple usergroups may exist in a workgroup.

 

Recommendations:

When there is a need to assign a large number of users to a several Knowledge Paths using usergroups makes assigning knowledge paths easier to manage. In addition, you can run reports across particular usergroups.

Advantages:

·         Knowledge Paths to be shared by multiple Divisions.

·         Reporting is across usergroups.

·         Managers can assign subjects too many users at once.

·         All Users usergroup, included by default.

·         Can control when a usergroup can start taking subjects and assessments in the knowledge path, as well as a date when the subject should be completed.

·         Can set a start date and/or end date for each knowledge path assigned to the usergroup

·         Users in usergroups may be copied across usergroups.

Limitations:

·         No restricted access.

 

Comments:

Post a Comment:
  • HTML Syntax: NOT allowed
About

The authors of this blog are members of the UPK product development, management, and marketing teams. On this blog, you'll find UPK news, tips/tricks, upcoming events, and general information on UPK - the easy-to-use, comprehensive content development, deployment, and maintenance platform for increasing project, program, and user productivity.

Search

Archives
« April 2014
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
   
       
Today