Deleted data showing in History?
In the Star ETL process there are 2 main types of updates. There is the current data (dimensions and facts) and there is the historical data (_hd, hf, history) - see
The current data is overwritten every ETL update. This will keep your data as up to date as the last ETL. If you worked on a project, deleted a project, updated tasks, deleted tasks, scheduled - that will all be reflected. In the Historical tables, these changes once captured will always remain. For example, you deleted a project. In your list of projects this will still be available. Once the data is captured it is always in the database. This way you truly have a historical perspective.
In P6 Analytics when viewing Historical data you may want to filter out this data. You can do so by adding a code to these values and set a value of 'Deleted' then apply this filter. If you truly want to see just the most recent data the Primavera - Activity subject area may be the subject area you want to report on. The historical subject areas is more for trending and seeing changes over time. In a future blog we will discuss how to add a delete_flag to allow for easier filtering in P6 Analytics. The main take away from this entry is once the ETL is run the data is captured as is and always available in the database if it needs to be reviewed. There was a high demand for being able to see all data, even if deleted, to help show the total historical picture of the life of a project.